top of page
Search

This Mindset Will Make You Rethink Your Looks

Updated: Sep 3, 2020

If you ever went to a school with a uniform, it could get pretty exciting when there's a dress down day. It's like almost a big reveal to show everyone what you really dress like. I will always remember how happy I was to wear this turquoise t-shirt with this lace shawl on top. It was a cute way to cover my arms... or at least I thought. The moment I walked into class my friend asked me what I was wearing. I asked her what she meant and she told me straight up that I reminded her of a grandmother. Throughout the day I kept getting remarks and comments telling me to take the shawl off because I wasn’t an old lady and should “show some skin.” By the last class of the day, the shawl was stuffed at the bottom of my backpack and is still hanging in my closet today.


I know I’m not the only person who understands the pain of having to conform to society's standards of what to wear or look like. It’s like they took the concept of modesty and shoved it into the same category as “prude,” “old,” or “conservative.” Here, “it’s America,” so it’s okay to wear short skirts and the tightest clothing available, but it’s seen as ugly to cover up or wear a piece of fabric on your head.


And that's just the tip of the iceberg. Showing hair anywhere besides your eyebrows and head is seen as disgusting. Not to mention your eyebrows have to be arched. Or even whe

n you do all that there is the pressure to wear makeup and basically look impossible to ever

reach the standard of beauty.


Frankly, for me, it’s frustrating especially with eczema all over my body. I have places on my face that get so red and irritated that I couldn't bear to go to class and have a fear of everyone staring at me. It’s tiring trying to fit the expectations. I could see so many Muslim girls especially change from being happy in their own skin to later lathering up foundation and eyeshadow. Or they feel ugly because they chose to cover up and are pressured every day to give in to letting go of Islamic ethics.


The same goes for Muslim men as well. I know for a fact that guys are pressured for not sporting a certain look like shorts above the knees or the right shaped beard or fashion statements they make. Overall, the concept of beauty for American Muslim youth right now is conflicting and it’s hard to find balance with remaining attached to Islam.



So you're probably thinking, “well that's all sad but how do we fix it?” I could answer with the idea that “beauty is on the inside so it doesn’t matter on the outside.” And that's true. All in all, Allah (SWT) will judge you on your soul and heart. But I am going to break the ice by saying that you should never say “beauty is on the inside not on the outside.” And yes I know every Disney show/movie kid is shook right now. But hear me out. In the Quran, it states:


"(Such is) the artistry of Allah, Who disposes of all things in perfect order..."

(al-Naml 27:88)


When we really focus on this quote can we truly see the symbolism and power it has? It talks about how Allah (SWT) truly creates works of art in all of us. He talks about how he created perfection in us human beings. Are we really going against the Creator of the Universe and argue that we are only beautiful on the inside? Who are we to judge His own creations?


It is THIS mindset we need. I’m not saying to throw away the makeup brush or the name brand clothes. Do what makes you happy and confident. But never forget to protect yourself with modesty because that’s what really matters. With each second of each day, we are getting closer to death and the Day of Judgement. Do what you need to prepare for it and dress in a way that you always remember why you're on this Earth. You will be seen as resilient and most definitely beautiful in the eyes of God and that's all we need.






28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The War in Yemen

I won’t go into details about what caused the war in Yemen, mainly because there are many biased opinions. And if you ask me, all sides are heartless. I say this because it takes a dead heart for an i

Pressure & the Hijab

This might seem really personal, but I want to talk about the pressure of having to wear a hijab. Recently, I’ve been feeling this pressure build up more and more in me and I think that it would be in

bottom of page